Gotta Be the Good Life

Before Thanksgiving weekend is over I am compelled to add my note about what I am thankful for this year.  I imagine that mine is not terribly different than yours, so to stave off potential reader temptation to skip this posting altogether, I’ve added a cute photo of our boys at the end.

Not surprisingly I am most thankful for MY BOYS!  I’m not going to lie and say that I would have chosen this path for myself or my family.   Most who know me never expected me to have a brood, and I myself only ever pictured one (possibly two) kid(s).  My childhood dreams may have included early retirement but my hope was for a life of leisure not for the immense responsibility of raising four boys.  However, now that we’ve survived a long and scary pregnancy, made it through the desperately sleepless nights, and come out the other side to the smiling, cooing and cuddling phase, I can safely say “the juice is worth the squeeze.”  My four boys bring surprise and wonder into my everyday in a way I could never have planned or imagined for myself.  And making it all possible I have my grown up boy, Eddie.  This year he stepped up the plate and life threw him one wicked, fatherhood curveball.  From our first “you’re joking right?” conversation to our most recent four month check up and big boy flu shot Dr. appointment, he is still batting a thousand.

Perhaps less obvious, I am thankful for the giant dose of perspective this year has provided.  Like never before I am acutely aware of just how fortunate I am.  Short of my own funeral, I don’t know that there will be another time when so many people will “show up” to demonstrate how much they care.  There were many who set aside their own lives and obligations and came from near and far to help us keep me healthy during the pregnancy or handle all the baby responsibilities. There were some who indulged my peculiarities by painting old furniture or watching endless hours of HGTV.  Others who sent boxes of necessities and delivered meals.  Still more who called or sent notes to say “how are you” and “wishing you well.”  All of the ways that my friends and relatives said “we care about you” meant so much and got me through some worrisome days. I am truly grateful for all of the concern and love that was shared as well as for the knowledge that no matter how crazy my life may seem there are always people there to love me, which is all that matters.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Gotta Be the Good Life

  1. Shelley Milton says:

    Happy birthday, baby girl. I am among those who would never have imagined this for you. But, I can truly believe that you (and Eddie) are handling the challenge better than anyone else I know. God obviously knew what He was doing, even if you questioned Him at points during the last year. We look forward to hearing what the next years bring. Love you. Shelley

  2. Kathleen Yale says:

    I was most thankful for our visit with my 2 first cousins! And- the added trasure of seeing Kelly’s 2 children AND your 4!!!! What a thrill seeing the triplets! I love the photo of them with Fletcher. Thank you so much!!! It was an unforgetable day and I’m so glad Dot & John did all that planning! What a great extended family. Love, A.Kay

  3. Linda Pashman says:

    I know we’ve kind of overdone the sports analogies, but you and Eddie are truly a world championship team! Wow! It was inspiring to see the 2 of you manage this gorgeous brood. We were so happy to be able to share a little time with you and the gang! Xoxo

  4. Kristine says:

    Ok, love reading your blog entries and in particular this one, about all the love life has brought to you. You are indeed lucky and as my mom always tells me, one day we will be old and our kids will be off leading their own lives and our fondest memories of life will be these tough months and years!!

    Love you and your family and hope to see you again soon!!

Leave a Reply

