6 under 6

Actually, it was 6 under 5 but 6 under 6 sounded better.  For those of you who think we’re crazy, no worries we’re not having twins, we just had friends with two wonderful children stay with us for the weekend.  It was just like our college days, except all the excessive drinking and babbling was done by our children.

Amazing that the 7 month olds were the easiest to coerce into a group photo shoot.

At the risk of breaking our “if you don’t have anything nice to say, come sit next to me” code, I’d like to tell you about my friend Maggie.  Like many others, I rely on my own mother for guidance on the big stuff (by big stuff I mean how do I mold these boys into wonderful men) and so much more.  However, since she can’t remember whether or not I’ve ever had chicken pox, it’s a bit unreasonable for me to call on my mom for all the everyday ins and outs, and ups and downs of motherhood.   Enter my Momma Sensei, Maggie.  Maggie is the kind of mom, I strive to be.  She is patient, creative, loving, warm, consistent, silly, and organized.  She manages to be a nurturer most of the time and hard ass just enough.  I look forward to our visits 1) for all the fun and brownies, and 2) for the many mental notes, I take while watching her with her children.  Most importantly, Maggie is not perfect, she doesn’t pretend to be.  Frequently when she isn’t a perfect mom, she’ll call to tell me about her latest “I’ve scarred my child for life” moment.  These calls are special gifts, ones that need not be reciprocated and that don’t require a thank you card.  For a mom, who is just learning as I go, it means so much to know I’m not the only one.  Also, it doesn’t hurt that she is a brilliant pediatrician, who never rolls her eyes at my many, many questions.

Finally, everybody was “Kung Fu Fighting!”

Standard

Leave a Reply

